The Break-Up

Dear Starbucks, it’s over! I’m breaking-up with you.

starbucks

Well, at least for the next 46 days. Yes, I’m giving up my beloved daily cup of java for Lent. Actually, it’s more than a religious or spiritual event for me. Especially this year. You could say that my “breaking-up” with Starbucks is a metaphor for some other things going on in my life. This is a time for me to set a goal, and meet it. To rise above the challenge. To sort out my wants from my needs.

I don’t need Starbucks. Although I do love it. It brings me joy! It makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. On the flip side, it has become a bad, bad habit that needs to be broken! And I will endeavour to get over it. It won’t be “fun.” In fact, I fully expect it to suck! I anticipate it will be painful even. But anything worth doing usually is, painful. At least, that has been my experience.

– J. Ela

Leave a Reply

