All In

scales

Nine days Starbuck’s free.

It ain’t easy!

It sucks giving up something you love!

If there were meetings for people addicted to Starbuck’s, I would go.

I persevere. No pain, no gain! Anything worth doing isn’t going to be easy. Right?

So, I decided to take all the money I’m saving by not going to Starbuck’s and invest in a personal trainer! I know! This is crazy! I had my first session on Friday. My God I’m out of shape. No, that’s not right. I’m in ‘a shape’, it’s just a bad one!

I’m actually looking forward to it. Which is weird, because I was the kid growing up who always hated PE. Probably because my PE teacher was such a douche! And in junior high, I loved playing basketball, but my coach was such an ass. He yelled at me once, and told me if I didn’t like the way he did things I could just head to the locker room. I did. And that was the last time I ever played. I ran track in junior high also, but that was mostly so I could participate in track meets. Small town. Got to have a social life anyway you can! Then in eighth grade I started having knee trouble. The orthopedic surgeon said I could either quit sports, or prepare to have knee surgery. Uh, that was a no-brainer. I quit. Well, mostly. I was an avid golfer. I started playing when I was ten. We had a golf course in our backyard. My parents played. I suppose it was a given that I would eventually play. I played golf all through junior high and high school, making it to regional every year. State finals always eluded me. I was good. But not that good.

I haven’t picked up a club in years.

So, oddly enough, I’m looking forward to this whole personal trainer thing. I mean, I love a challenge. And this will certainly be a challenge. Physical and mental. Failure is not an option. I’m all-in! 100% committed.

– J. Ela

One thought on “All In

  1. Good for you & good luck as well. I’m trying myself to stick to a more regular exercise routine and am pretty committed to improving my health lately as well, so I know how it feels. I truly hope you enjoy working with a personal trainer. Sounds like a great idea to keep focused. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

