Thank you! May I have another please!

The company I work for made a profit in 2012 of $160 million. Three times what it made in 2011.

The Senior VP of the company I work for earns a salary of nearly $500,000.

His total compensation package is worth more than ONE MILLION DOLLARS!

After nearly three years with the company I am still earning less than $40k, and found out on Friday that my raise this year is… 18 cents/hour.

18 CENTS/HOUR!

That’s $1.44/day… $7.20/week… $374.40/year

sign_quote

18 CENTS/HOUR!

Last year I got a whopping 34 cents/hour.

I was furious then.

Now! I am seething! Foaming at the mouth like a rabid dog!

18 CENTS/HOUR? ARE YOU FUCKING KIDDING ME?

I went to my boss. Prepared. With a list of my accomplishments over the past year. I told him this raise did not reflect my contributions to the company. He claims his “hands are tied.”

So I went to HIS boss. He said raises were given based on “merit” and “performance evaluations.” He told me, and I’m paraphrasing now, because I was so pissed off I don’t remember the exact quote, but he told me I should just say thank you and be happy I got a raise at all, because not everyone in the building got a raise.

Well, if raises were given out based on “merit” then I suppose there were quite a few people who didn’t get raises. I can name a few without even having to think about it. But 18 god-damn-cents?! That’s what I’m worth to them?

The conversation with the boss didn’t end well. He basically told me the company would never pay me what I thought I deserved. And to be clear, I’m not asking to be rich, just to survive. And quite frankly, what I asked for was still less than $40k! He said if I wanted to make more money I needed to find another job somewhere else.

Well, the jokes on him, because I already am! And they will NEVER find another producer like me. NEVER! I was a once-in-a-lifetime find. Why? Because most producers my age, that understand the target demo, are working at positions well beyond this one. The next producer they find will be a college grad who doesn’t have a clue!

Right now, I’m producing the #1 rated newscast at our station. We are not number one over-all, but that doesn’t have anything to do with me. This station was deep in third place long before I came along. I have been very instrumental in turning things around. This company does not value their “people” assets. I suppose, most companies don’t!

But back to my pathetic excuse for a raise. I actually told the boss I was insulted by the amount of my raise. That did not go over well at all! But honestly, he’s looking-out for numero uno, aka HIM… who’s looking-out for me? No one! It’s a dog-eat-dog world. And I have to look-out for myself. That company would let me go in a New York minute and not blink an eye. At least when they show me the door I’ll know I said everything I wanted to say. How many people get that opportunity, and take it?

$374/year… hmm… I’ll try not to spend it all in one place.

$900/year… that’s how much my rent went up this year.

People receiving Social Security received a Cost-of-Living-Adjustment (COLA) of 1.7%… nearly double the amount of my raise.

So, bend over and take it up the ass? I think not! If ever I needed an excuse to intensify my search for greener pasture, I found it. Thank you! May I have another please!

– J. Ela

Leave a Reply

