A Secret

If I had a secret that I had to tell
If it were so devine and I were compelled
The one that I’d tell would be you

If the secret were such that my heart were to burst
If the words were too much to hold back
The one that I’d tell would be you

If I had a secret worth keeping
If its mysteries endowed worth repeating
The one that I’d tell would be you

If I had a secret shrouded in darkness
If I couldn’t contain even one small utterance
The one that I’d tell would be you

If I had a secret that I had to tell
The one that I’d tell would be you
And if you were not here to tell my secret to
Then there would be no point to the secret, at all

– J. Ela

Leave a Reply

