In Memoriam: Firsts Mother’s Day

My mother died last fall after a five-year battle with ALS/FTD (Lou Gehrig’s Disease-Frontotemporal Dementia). For the last three years of her life she could not speak. She communicated only through written word. For the final six months of her life she could not even write. Then, she communicated only through her eyes and the painful expressions on her face. Today, I write for her.

My Mother & Me

My Mother & Me

Firsts Mother’s Day

First steps, and words
First days of school
First A+,
First driving lesson

First boyfriend
First kiss
First breakup
First prom

First wedding
First wedding dress
First grandson
First sleepless night

First college graduation
First job
First big move
First heartbreak

First Mother’s day without you.

Mom, you were there for all of my firsts! Thank you!

I miss you, and I love you.

– J. Ela

Leave a Reply

