You Can’t Pick You’re Family! Damn That Sucks!

20130704-212151.jpg

I just got off the phone with my sister, Sherry. She wanted to know why WE weren’t going to see fireworks tonight? Well, let me see…. A) I’m fucking tired! B) I just got home from work! C) oh! And I’ve been up since six-fucking-thirty this morning and I’ve commuted 150-fucking-miles today! Her response… So, this is just going to be another crappy holiday just like all the rest? Uh, I guess so! Welcome to my world! A world where the news never stops and there is no such thing as a holiday! GET OVER IT!

Wait, though, let me back up a bit. Before all of that she bitched at me for never answering my phone when she calls, having to leave a message, or text me and wait for me to call back at my “convenience!” To quote her, she’s “sick of it!”

Then she goes on to tell me that she’s suicidal and homicidal and that she “just can’t take it anymore!”

I told her to JOIN THE CLUB!

What I wanted to ask her was WHAT exactly is IT that you can’t take anymore?

Don’t get me wrong, I love my sister. I have to. I’m obligated! But! And this is a really BIG but… That girl hasn’t worked in 20 years! She is “disabled!” She has never been married. She doesn’t have kids. She knows where her next “paycheck” is coming from. The government pays for her healthcare, her housing, and food. She gets ALL of this after contributing a whopping 2years to the workforce after she graduated from college! She has a, and I shit-you-not, a live-in caregiver. Judy does everything for my sister. Cooking, cleaning, laundry. My god, she even will dry her hair if needed! How pathetic! Sherry goes to bed when she wants. Wakes up when she wants…. usually rolling out around mid-afternoon.

So, I ask again, what is it exactly that she’s had enough of?

You can’t pick your family! And damn that sucks! Because I’d sure like another option!

– J. Ela

PS – day 2 sans my beloved director! What a sad, depressing day it was indeed. When I got to work I found him curled up on the sofa in our waiting room. So adorable! I wanted to curl up next to him! I think this is probably a good trial run for when one of us actually leaves the other behind, for good. It ain’t gonna be pretty! I had not realized how much of a confidant Geoff has become until he wasn’t there and I had no one else. God, I love him! 🙂 I’m so thankful we got past the weird and have become good friend… No… Great friends!

Leave a Reply

