When You Know, You Know. Ya Know?

If you want something very, very badly, let it go free. If it comes back to you, it’s yours forever. If it doesn’t, it was never yours to begin with. – Jess Lair

There are a few things in life I have found to be absolute truths:

Forgiveness sets you free.

EVERYTHING happens for a reason!

And when you know, you know!

When I left Phoenix four years ago it was reluctantly and with a vow to return. A year later, even as I was about to start a new job, I was talking to a station in Phoenix about another job. (coincidently, it’s the station I’m working at now) I remember telling the hiring manager, “I would rather be an associate producer in Phoenix, than a Producer here.” I suppose when I said it, it was true. But deep down, it was a lie. I didn’t get the job. I went on to produce for three years at my now-former station. I remember sitting on the floor in my bedroom, crying, and saying, that’s it, I’m letting go of Phoenix.

Then, a year or so later, through a series of business transactions, the gateway opened again for my return to Phoenix. I tried, failed. Tried again, and failed, again. Again I cried, and said, that’s it! I’m letting go of Phoenix. I erased, literally, all ties to Phoenix. Contacts in my phone, social media, email, gone. Then, one more opportunity. A leap of faith. I went. Success. At last, it was mine.

I don’t regret the way it all worked out. The three years spent at my former station allowed me to experience some real growing pains, to experience forgiveness, not only of myself but of others, and to learn to trust that everything happens for a reason. It also taught me that when you know, you know. When you desire something (or someone) deep down to the very core of your being, it’s probably put there for a reason. Because it’s meant to be. Because you’re meant to have it, to fight for it, to achieve it. Because when you know, you know! Ya know?

– J. Ela

(dedicated to my beloved for never letting me give up on my dream, thank you! I love you!)

20130822-173822.jpg

3 thoughts on “When You Know, You Know. Ya Know?

  1. Pingback: I Saw The Sign | ela intoxicated!

Leave a Reply

