The Greatest Gift

Sometimes the greatest gift you can give someone is knowing when to walk away. Especially when they don’t have the courage to do it for themselves.

Walk Away

Walk Away


The greatest gift my ex ever gave me, was walking away when I didn’t have the courage to do it myself. I had asked for a divorce. I wanted a divorce. I hated him with every fiber in me. But in the end, I could not walk away. At the time, I didn’t know why I wanted to stay in the toxic marriage. I would come to find out later, it’s because I was stuck in a narcissistic cycle of abuse.

Knowing it’s time to walk away. And actually walking away. Two very different things. When one of you are unable. It’s great to be able to give the greatest gift, and do what the other cannot.

Walk away.

– J. Ela

Leave a Reply

