What’s up with all the “Love is…”

I realized it’s been more than a month since I wrote an actual blog post. I’m not sure what caused it, but there was a clear deviation from writing, to something else. Looking backing over the past dozen or so post, what I see, is more of a self-exploration. After years in a relationship finding out what love “is not” I found myself needing to really look within and find out what “love is.” Actually, I think, love is different things to different people. There was a time when, to me, love was being married and taken care of for the rest of my life. That is not love. At least not to me. I really needed to get back to the core of what I believe love is.

Now, while I consider myself Christian, I’m not über-religious. And I don’t want to come across as being preachy. But, as it turns out, one of my most favorite, I’ll call it a quote, happens to be from the Bible.

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails…” (1 Corinthians 13:4-8)

This could very well be a motto, a philosophy by which to live life. If love IS all of those things, and if we treated those we claim to love, according to that philosophy, wouldn’t our relationships be all the better for it? Really, it’s like a litmus test. Can you be patient? Kind? Can you not be a jealous fool? Can you not sit around bragging all the time about yourself? Can you be faithful? Can you count to ten, and be rational? Can you forgive? And forget?

If you can do all of those things, you’re welcome to be part of my life. If not… Move along please. No, I’m not perfect, and I struggle, everyday to achieve what love requires. It is easier with some. More difficult with others. Everyday I’m closer to breaking free from the old ways, and grabbing hold of the new. Everyday, I’m a little closer to knowing what love is…..

– J. Ela

20131030-120027.jpg

Leave a Reply

