He Gave Me Back My Soul

I’m in the middle of reading Paulo Coelho’s Eleven Minutes. It is not my typical read. In fact, I generally stay away from these kinds of novels. But something actually led me to it. No, really! I hadn’t even heard of Paulo Coelho until a couple of weeks ago. Then his name started popping up in unusual places. Then, the book title got thrown at me, and before I knew it I’m uploading it to my iPad! It makes me sad. Mostly because, I can identify with Maria, the books main character. A young woman who has given up on love. I didn’t write the following, but I certainly could have….


“I’ve met a man and fallen in love with him. I allowed myself to fall in love for one simple reason: I’m not expecting anything to come of it. I know that, in three months’ time, I’ll be far away and he’ll be just a memory, but I couldn’t stand living without love any longer; I had reached my limit…”

“Generally speaking, these meetings occur when we reach a limit, when we need to die and be reborn emotionally. These meeting are waiting for us, but more often than not, we avoid them happening. If we are desperate, though, if we have nothing to lose, or if we are full of enthusiasm for life, then the unknown reveals itself, and our universe changes directions.”

“Everyone knows how to love,because we are all born with that gift.Some people have a natural talent for it but the majority of us have to re-learn,to remember how to love,and everyone,without exception,needs o burn on the bonfire of past emotions,to relieve certain joys and griefs,certain ups and downs,until they can see the connecting thread that exists behind each new encounter;because there is a connecting thread.”

“And then, our bodies learn to speak the language of the soul, known as sex, and that is what I can give to the man who gave me back my soul, even though he has no idea how important he is to my life. That is what he asked me for and that is what he will have; I want him to be very happy.”

― Paulo Coelho, Eleven Minutes

20131031-231836.jpg

– J. Ela

3 thoughts on “He Gave Me Back My Soul

Leave a Reply

