Communication 101

20131113-203817.jpg

I graduated with a degree in Mass Communication… and just one class short of having a minor in Communication. I work in the communication business. And yet, when it comes to communication skills, let’s just say, I could use a little help. Especially when it comes to interpersonal communication.

I have a mental list a mile long of the should’s and should-nots of communicating. Words to never use. Phrases that come across as negative and demeaning. Words to build people up, to inspire, to motivate. I know the bottom line of effective communicating is to – say what you mean, mean what you say, but don’t be mean!

Even with this wealth of knowledge and information I am still a horrible communicator. I hem and haw. I dance around the truth. I hide behind a blog! Why is that?

I think it’s because even the BEST communicator can succumb to crazymaking. (it’s a real thing, google it) The most clever person cannot go up against an irrational person. Not in a normal way. So, you learn how to communicate another way. Mind you, it’s not healthy. No one is the beneficiary of that kind of communication. Nothing gets accomplished. Except, crazymaking.

Now that the crazymaker is gone and I’m able to function with more-or-less normal people, I must learn relearn how to communicate again. My failure to do that reached magnificent proportion this week. If I’m unable to do it, I fear I’ll be very much alone. And I’ll have only myself to blame for that. I have the know-how. I’m intelligent enough to do it. It’s time to start being a better communicator!

– J. Ela

13 thoughts on “Communication 101

Leave a Reply

