Obstacles

I just started reading Paulo Coehlo’s “The Alchemist.” He begins by talking about the obstacles that keep us from going after our dreams. There are four.

The first obstacle: everything seems impossible.
The second obstacle: love.
The third obstacle: fear.
And the fourth obstacle: abandoning our right to joy and conquest.

Removing-Obstacles1

What Coelho says about the obstacle of love is that “we know what we want to do, but are afraid of hurting those around us by abandoning everything in order to pursue our dream.  We do not realize that love is just a further impetus, not something that will prevent us going forward. We do not realize that those who genuinely wish us well want us to be happy and are prepared to accompany us on that journey.” 

I was especially moved by that last part because I can relate so well. For years I abandoned my dream of finishing college because it seemed impossible and because I was afraid. But mostly because I had a family to care for and to love.

When I decided the dream no longer seemed impossible, when the fear had left me, and when I realized furthering myself meant furthering my family as well, well, let’s just say, I discovered very quickly, who was prepared to make the journey with me.

Those who were and are still very much bogged down in fear… those who have abandoned, without all hope of recovery, their dreams of what might have been, those who have only hate in their heart, those who see the impossible, instead of the possible… they were the ones who turned their back on me.

Give your love to those who are genuinely willing to wish you happiness and to walk with you on your journey. Get rid of the people who are obstacles in your life. You will be all the better for it.

– J. Ela

One thought on “Obstacles

  1. Pingback: Conspiracy at the Crossroads | ela intoxicated!

Leave a Reply

