I hate and I love…

“I hate and I love. Why do I do this, you may ask? I do not know, but I feel it, and I am tortured.”

– Catullus

fine_line_between_love_and_hate_xlarge

All love (affection, friendship, romance, unconditional love) carries the “seeds of hatred.” If it is the only thing we live for, “love, having become a god, becomes a demon.” – from The Four Loves by C.S. Lewis.

How many of us have said, “I must really love you a lot to put up with all of this!” I know I am guilty. Resentment. That’s what I’m really feeling. Resentment. Because my labor of love is unappreciated. At home. At work. In my personal relationships. I am a “victim” and “wounded” by the injustice of it all. That is how I am able to both hate.. and love.. at the same time.

– J. Ela

Leave a Reply

