A Stagnated Pond

I read recently in a career-related blog; if you’re not growing you’re stagnant. I don’t remember where I read it (otherwise I’d give proper credit). It stuck with me.

If you’re not growing, you’re stagnant. 

That’s what I am; stagnant.

adjective
– having no current or flow and often having an unpleasant smell as a consequence.
– showing no activity; dull and sluggish.
stagnant-pond-dsc_4818
Minus the ‘unpleasant smell’ that pretty well sums it up. I’m a dingy pond. A green pool in the backyard of a foreclosed home. Okay, so maybe I do smell. A little. The smell of desperation? Someone who desperately needs a growth spurt.
The problem is, as I see it, I lack a clear path forward. A year ago I had a vision. I had a plan. Since acting on that plan I’ve been met with a barrage of negative feedback.
Statements like: I’m “not there yet” and “not ready” or not of the “quality” or “material” needed to do the job I so desperately desire. I’ve been told to focus on what I “do have” instead of what I don’t; and that my desire to grow is “a long shot.”
Lately I’ve spent a lot of time reflecting on the choice I made to come here. It’s easy to see in hindsight it wasn’t the right choice. I convinced myself it was. And now I feel utterly stuck.
How does one get “unstuck” from a situation like this? With so many people looking for work, should I just shut up and be grateful for the job I do have?
– J. Ela
Leave a Reply

